Personal Project – Antique Chair Model

The Project

Using a high to low polygon workflow, I decided to recreated an antique chair found in my house in 3D.  The chair itself is made of a solid stained wood and a leather seat positioned into place with metal studs.  The leather in real life is a dull shade of brown and I intend to re-colour this a vibrant red to make it more visually appealing.  The chair also offers some lovely turned legs at the front, further adding interest.

Low Polygon Model

The low polygon model was created within Autodesk’s 3DS Max, mostly as a single mesh.  This is with exception the the back rest and the horizontal wooden beam.  The final geometry is displayed below.

chazz1chazz2

Initially, I had used less geometry throughout the model, more precisely in the turned legs.  However, I wasn’t happy with the silhouette it was projecting as it looks very angular.  As this was a personal project and I wasn’t under any polygon restrictions, I decided to up the polygon count without going over board.

High Polygon Model

For the high polygon model I separated the model into components of how it would be made in real life.  This would give the appearance of segments when baked down onto the normal map.  Furthermore, I seperated the leather section and sub-divided it to a point where I could sculpt in the creases and folds.  Lastly, I created some floating geometry around the edge of the leather to give the appearance of edging and studs, which would be later baked down also.

UV Layout

chairrr

**NORMAL**DIFFUSE**ROUGHNESS**

The above shows the UV layouts over multiple maps for my chair model.  Overall, I am happy with the UV as it makes good use of the space provided and the UV islands are positioned out in a clean, clear and concise way.  The normal maps have baked out pretty cleanly, with a number of minor artifacts which can be corrected at a later date using Adobe Photoshop.  Some UV islands could have been stitched together, however I decided against it as it helped prevent artifacts occurring when baking out my normal maps.

Final Model

chairaAchairBChairD

Leave a Reply

