Framestore Lunch Crunch – Hand Sculpt Attempt

Today we were given the opportunity to take part in Framestores “Lunch Crunch” sculpting challenge.  Using our sculpting software of choice, in this case Autodesk Mudbox, we were given 2 hours to produce a 3D creation from a basic sphere that follows the theme of “celebrate your given talent“.

I, maybe stupidly, decided to to create a hand holding a piece of art equiptment in celebration of the creative side of the Next Gen course.  However, if you notice the image at the top of the page, the sculpt did not go completely to plan.

Firstly, about a third away through the sculpt my Mudbox crashed and I had not saved the project.  Lesson learned!  This set me back massively so I decided to sculpt the hand as an outstretched palm as I thought this would be the easiest and most manageable way.  I came across more difficulties when try to extrude out the fingers and thumb, as topology was getting stretched even when subdividing the mesh.  I had to research into how to re-topologise the mesh to redistribute the geometry evenly, which further ate into my 2 hour limit.

Overall, I was happy with the shape, proportions and scale of the hand I created, however feel I should have completed more within the timescale.  The sculpt looks pretty good when viewing from the front, although I feel the “pad” situated at the base of the thumb is too swollen and large, which I could reduce down.  I really wish I could have added more detail into it, especially on the back of the hand which has no defining features at all.

In hindsight, hands are notoriously hard to get right and I should have picked something simpler and manageable within the time constraints.  Also, with my knowledge of Mudbox being very basic, maybe I should have designed something within my current skill-set to avoid any of the “hiccups” that occurred.  That being said, I was still quite please with my sculpt considering it was one of the first within the software, and within a time limit.

I aim to use this model as a base and use it as a hand anatomy study, to complete in the future.

Leave a Reply

