Sketching – Continued

As mentioned in previous posts, I am currently sketching more in order to hopefully improve my drawing skills.  Over the past few days / weeks, I have tried to draw whenever I have free time, posting images of my results to track any improvements.

The drawing I produced was entirely from imagination, however heavily influenced by The Witcher 3 game by CD Projekt Red as I am currently playing that at the minute.

In this sketch I wanted to see improvements in the use of shadow and highlights to clearly show the light sources direction, whilst also provide more contrast to my images.  I feel I am beginning to show this with heavy highlights on the right of the building and shadows casting towards the left (even though there are no ground shadows).

I still feel my work on shadows / highlights needs work, however I can still see slow improvement and hopefully it continues.

Leave a Reply

