Computer Monitor – 3D Modelling

https://jamesmwake.wordpress.com/2016/01/04/futuristic-apartment-bedroom-3d-modelling/

After creating the corner described in my previous post, I wanted to create a computer monitor to sit upon it.  Whilst I did not want to over complicate quite a small asset, it was an opportunity to put into practice the skills I have learnt over the past projects. Also, it provided further opportunity to use new you tools not described on my blog previously, which I will elaborate on later in this post.

Inspiration

First step was to gather images as a point of reference when creating the monitor model, also looking into the screen proportions and usual dimensions using monitors currently on the market.

Final Inspiration:

The final inspiration I used was a Samsung curved LED monitor, a design in my opinion perfectly suited to the futuristic environment I am creating. Also, providing an obscure and challenging shape to model. The monitor chosen was a 27″ version, which from research had the dimensions 24.54″ x 14.40″ x 2.34″ which I used a guideline during the modeling process.

 

3D Modeling

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The above slides show the final topology of the monitor model, with the final polygon count being around 400 due to the curvature of the design.  I was actually quite pleased with what I had created as it resembled the reference image, with the monitor screen dimensions almost matching perfectly to the measurements mentioned earlier.

The two main techniques / tools I used are:

Loft Tool

I used the loft tool to created the curved shape of the monitor and its stand.  I used this method as it allowed me two create a 2D shape and extrude them along a curved spline to precise measurements, keeping them within the required dimensions. For example, The monitors used a rectangular shape extruded along a curved spline, whilst the based used a triangle.

Bend Modifier

bend

On the rear side of the monitor, I came across quite a tricky shape where the extrusion tapers in at the edges. To achieve this I selected the required faces and applied the the bend modifier, which bends and distorts the selection from a chosen point.

Example:

First I select the faces in which I want to bend.

bend1

I then select the “center” from  the options, adjusting the pivot point the the precise point where you want the bend to hinge from.

bend2.jpg

Once happy, adjust the parameters to the desired amounts. The example below has been bent to the angle of 90 degrees.

 

UV Template

When laying out and scaling my UV template, I ensured I assigned the majority of the space to the front and back face of the monitor as this will gain the most attention from the player / audience. Whilst also giving a lot of space the the frame itself, as I still feel this is important to the overall look of the model.

Different from other models, I decided the give equal importance to the under-side of the model. The reason being, at first glance it would not be seen by the player, however as it is a smaller asset I would want it to have collision to allow it to be knocked over, as a result the bottom would then be visible.

Final Model

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall, I am really quite pleased with my final model. I am particularly pleased with the texturing on the rear of the monitor, with the inclusion of the extra detailing of screws, logos and cable inputs has stepped up my modeling.

When creating this post, I have realised slightly weird shadowing on the rear-side of the monitor stand which I think is caused by incorrect smoothing groups. I will investigate and correct this as soon as possible.

The next step would to incorporate a normal / bump map to enhance the textures, especially on the cable inputs on the rear to help add depth and detail without the inclusion of extra geometry.

Leave a Reply

