NextGen Brief – Polygon Art

Numerous weeks ago, we were given an optional task of creating an object / thing in a low polygon style.  The creation had the intended use of being displayed on the NextGen official website and this blog describes the process I took on designing my final peice. Sadly, due to unforeseen circumstances, I was not able to submit this work on the weekend the deadline fell on, however I have decided to display it on this blog for peoples perusal.

Initial Concept

Funny enough, the first “polygonal” creation I made as a test was an  elephant within Adobe Photoshop.  Using a sample image found on the internet, I used the polygonal lasso tool to mark out my desired shapes upon it. Lastly, filling the then created shapes with a corresponding colour until the image was complete.

lowpolyelephant4(1).jpg

I also adjusted the brightness / contrast on half of the image to give it an enhanced 3 dimensional look.

Next, I began to think about possible requirements and designs that would make it easier for use on the NextGen website. I navigated their official website to get a feel for their company, their intended audience and colour choices used throughout.  My attention then drew to the companys official logo, more precisely, the colours used within it. In result, I created a swatch.

NextGenSwatch(1)

I started playing with these colours, incorporating them into my design by overlaying them on to the image. Also, adjusting the hue and saturation using the colour dropper as a guide.

lowpolyelephantcolours(1)

From this experiment, I liked how the image started to resemble the the NextGen skills official logo and decided to use this as the basis of my final product. Although, I felt I further needed to increase the saturation of the colours to completely match and make it stand out more to its audience.

I began to think about the course itself, and what it entails. Further linking it its logo, I thought about how the logo is divided in two (blue and pink) and how it is reminiscent of the course itself. One side of the course being heavily artistic and creation based, the other being heavily mathematical, coding and logic based.

This is where the final idea of the brain comes from, as the brain is divided in this exact way. I felt it was the object which sums up the course perfectly.

Final Design

I started sourcing images of brains (disturbing as it sounds), to decide which angle to draw it from. I stumbled across the perfect image which provided a 360 degree view of the object, from which I chose the front on view as it was the most interesting whilst still being recognisable to the audience. Sadly, the image came with a watermark, however it was only to be used as a reference.

brains

brainchoice

Another reason I chose this angle is that it allows me see the division of the brain into two sections, which would not be possible from the side.

Following the same process as above, I created a low polygon image of the brain. However, only creating half of it for symmetry.

Brain3

Once happy, I mirrored the selection to complete the full shape of the brain. Again, I applying the NextGen colours using the colour dropper on the swatch which I created earlier. Furthermore, increasing the brightness, contrast and saturation to more appealing levels.

 

Brain3colour

I was really happy how the image turned on, especially the vibrancy of the colour. Although, I wanted some extra detail layered upon to increase its complexity. Using inspiration from images I had seen whilst researching this topic, I decided to apply nodes upon the brain. These nodes are the represent the individual skills required and developed on the NextGen course. This was to be my final design.

BrainColourtest2

Overall, I was pleased with my final design, although I may return and increase the thickness of the node lines so they are more visible. I learned numerous skills within Photoshop which are transferable to the rest of the course, including texturing most notably. Its just a shame that I could not get it submitted.

 

One thought on “NextGen Brief – Polygon Art

Leave a Reply

