UK Democracy

“A system of government by the whole population or all the eligible members of a state, typically through elected representatives.”

Here, in the UK, we lead by representative democracy, where we elect our leaders in the form of political parties. We hold elections periodically, where all UK citizens over the age of 18 are able to vote, however voting is optional.

Being over 18, I have been able to vote for several years.  However, my approach to voting is the feeling of “the best of a bad bunch”, whoever I feel is the least worse.  Although it sounds cynical, I think the feeling is mutual among a number of the UK population.  Political parties change, however I feel a lot of broken promises still remain. I also feel our vote is influenced through our families and their past generations, most commonly seen in the “north / south divide”.

That being said, I still feel it is important to vote as I feel every little helps. Although, at this current time, I feel their are no particular great leaders and their parties, I still feel their are some worse, with almost dangerous beliefs which with our votes, should never see the light of day to put our great country at risk.

Leave a Reply

