Sourcing Images / Texturing a Modular Wall Model

Using the template I created in my previous post, this was exported to Adobe Photoshop for me to begin laying my texture upon it.

Sourcing Images for Textures

When texturing, it is important to use high quality / resolution images to maintain the most amount of detail, therefore a higher quality final product.

Instead of using a search engine to locate images, it is best to use dedicated websites to ensure the images gathered are royalty free to avoid any legal complications later down the line. Also, you are almost guaranteed that these images are of a decent standard. Here are a few examples of these websites:

http://www.shutterstock.com/index-in.mhtml

http://www.textures.com/

http://freestocktextures.com/

Gathering your own textures, whether it be through your own artwork or photographs, is the best way to ensure that your textures are the best fit for your model.  You have greater control over the more precise details and resolution, saving you time having to sift through numerous images to find the required texture. More importantly, these images will be unique to you and your environment, as a result being more personal to you and your style. Also, being unique, therefore more interesting to the audience.

I aim to begin gathering and compiling a library of textures of my own through photographs.  I am in a lucky position where my girlfriend is a photographer and I have access to using her high quality camera. I am currently reading numerous articles on the fundamentals of taking photographs for textural use and will post my research in an upcoming post.

Applying my Chosen Textures

Plaster – Wall Texture
Paint Stripped Wood - Skirting Board
Paint Stripped Wood – Skirting Board

The images above are the chosen textures which will make up the majority of my test wall model. As it is an internal wall with the inclusion of skirting board detailing, I decided to use an ageing plaster texture in combination with an almost rotten wood texture with the appearance of paint stripping off.  I feel it is important to find sample images which relate with each other to create a more believable environment.

WALL_TEST

Returning to my UVW template, I started laying these images on the relevant spaces, the end result is shown above.  Please note, I have only textured the front / top of the wall as this is the only part viewable by the audience. I have coloured the other faces using blue for reference, as you will see later.

It is possible to overlap you texture images beyond the boundaries, as this is empty texture space and will not be transferred onto the model.  I then saved my UVW as a PNG file, returned to 3DS Max and applied it to my model wall using the material editor.

Wall1 Wall2 Wall3

As mentioned earlier, you can see where I have painted the blue lines (not veiwable by the audience).  If I were to apply a texture in the same method as the front of the wall, it would have transferred in the same way.

Final Thoughts

Overall, I was pleased with my attempt at texturing my modular wall model. I aim to build on this by learning advanced texturing techniques such bump maps, normal maps and displacements map to help enhance the details on my texture. I also want to research further into the numerous texturing types and their benefits, learning how to use them in conjunction with my models to help improve them further.

Leave a Reply

