UV Unwrap in Preperation for Texturing.

A UV unwrap is essentially a net of your model displayed in a 2D plain, which once wrapped back together, becomes 3D.  This can then be exported to the relevant software for you to build textures upon it.

The tutorial above explains how the UV wrap is created.

Projection Plains

Within the UV editor options, it is important to ensure it is projecting from the correct direction, whether it be the x, y or z axis.

PLAINexample1

In the example shown, the front / back of the wall would be projected using the “y” axis, sides of the wall would be the “x” axis and finally, the top / bottom of the wall would the “z” axis. Once you have projected all the walls correctly, you should have a net of the wall closely resembling the below diagram.

PLAINexample2

Please note, I have designated a larger section of the UVW to the front and top of the model.  This is because I want the focus on the front of the model as the back, sides and bottom would not be visible by the player.

Quality Assurance

To ensure the texture would be projected on the model correctly, I then applied the chequered texture sample I created in the previous post.

https://jamesmwake.wordpress.com/2015/10/09/texture-sample-checkered-map/

The texture was applied using the material editor options which can be accessed pressing the “M” key.

MaterialEditor

By accessing the diffuse option and selecting bitmap, I then imported my sample texture. This was then dragged on my model and applied. This allowed me visualise any imperfections on my model, negating the chance of my final textures appearing distorted.

WallSegmentscreen1

Exporting UVW in Preparation for Texturing

Once I was happy with my UVW, it was time to export it in preparation to build a texture upon it.  Selecting “tools”, then “render UVW template” in the UV Editor, I was greeted with the following image.

WALL_UV

This image was then saved as a JPEG or PNG file.  This is now my final template to begin designing my texture over.

Leave a Reply

