Make a game!

Nearing the end of my first day on the NextGen course, we were tasked on making a game with no input from the tutors , following these steps:

  1. Come up with a game idea
  2. Research the games production
  3. Prepare a pitch for your game
  4. Produce a playable demo of your game
  5. Pitch and demo your game
  6. Receive peer feedback

*We are to complete the first two points only and were told “do not do more”.

I have drawn attention to the “do not do more” comment as it became apparent that a number of fellow students jumped straight into the software and started working on a game.  I was also taken aback as these students knew how to use this software to create a game, skills which I yet had but wanted to learn.

I began to jot down ideas of simple games in my notepad (shown below).

2015-09-02 13.28.26

It then clicked that this game had to be playable by the end of next week and I didn’t know how to use this software at all yet.  I became aware that it was not going to be viable to research, learn the software and create a video game in time for the deadline next week.

Thankfully, I was drawn to the attention that the brief actually said “game”, not “video game”.  In result, helping me decide on creating a board game which was more appropriate to the time frame and my current skill level.

I decided to create a variation of snakes and ladders, a game in fresh my mind as I had played it recently with my little cousin. This will be combined with elements of space and science fiction, taking inspiration from films such as “Interstellar” and the upcoming “The Martian”. 

I will go into more detail in my next post.

Leave a Reply

